South Dakota Specialty Producers Association (SDSPA)

SDSPA is a nonprofit comprised of a diverse, geographically dispered group of specialty producers in the state.  SDSPA’s members are growers, processors, chefs, marketers, consumers, resource providers and others interested producing, marketing and consuming specialty crops and local products. The organization represents non-commodity products that include fruits and vegetables, specialty meats and grains, wine and beer, organic products, honey, agritourism businesses and more.

Mission Statement

South Dakota Specialty Producers Association (SDSPA) provides education, promotion and connections for specialty foods and products.


In addition to promoting its member’s products SDSPA and history of efforts including:

  • Developing cooperative marketing opportunities.
  • Serving as a venue for networking and information gathering.
  • Marketing agritourism.
  • Promoting South Dakota product identity.
  • Offering educational programs.
  • Supporting research.
  • Working with legislators and policymarkers.
  • Partnering with other organizations on common goals.


SDSPA membership run from Jan. 1- Dec. 31 of each calendar year. Annual dues are $25, and membership must be renewed annually to maintain benefits and voting rights.

Membership Committees

Member engagement is necessary to move efforts forward. The SDSPA committees and projects provide a wide range of options for participation. Members can notify the designated contact to participate or select committees during our annual membership enrollment period in January of each year.

Position Statements

SDSPA’s official stance on issues. 

About Our Website

We’ve designed our site to be a hub of resources for specialty producers, as well as a means of showcasing our member’s products to the public. Whether you’re a producers, wholesale buyer or consumer, you’ll find lots of helpful information here.

Have an idea for us? We welcome your feedback (contact us here), and we look forward to serving you.


Member Listing
Member Features




Cindy Tolle, President 
Producer, Evergreen Ranching & Livestock
Peggy Martin, Vice President
Producer, Cedar Creek Gardens
Charles Riggins, Treasurer
Producer, Riggins Homegrown Foods
Casey Burrus, Secretary
Tom Bodensteiner, Board Member
Producer, Country Road Gardens
Scott Brinker, Board Member
Executive Chef, Monument Health
Rhoda Burrows, Advisor
Horticulture Specialist, SDSU Extension
Barbara Cromwell, Board Member
Black Hills Farmers Market Manager
Kyle Cox, Board Member
Producer, Cox’s Farm Stand
Anne Fennel, Advisor
Professor, SDSU
Angela Jackson, Board Member
Producer, Prairiesun Organic Farm
Jeff Stewart, Board Member
Producer, Stewart’s Aronia Acres



SDSPA Support

Chris Zdorovtsov, Membership & Marketing Coordinator
Kathleen Rykhus, Local Food System Coordinator