South Dakota Local Foods Network Announces Upcoming Listening Session Opportunities

The South Dakota Local Foods Network (Network) invites those interested in South Dakota local food production, marketing or distributing to attend one of two upcoming listening sessions.  In this uncertain time and change in the food supply chain, the Network would like to provide a time for community members to share ideas, challenges and immediate sovereign needs.   

The Network is a collaboration of partners such as SDSU Extension, USDA Rural Development, South Dakota Specialty Producers Association, Dakota Rural Action. And South Dakota Department of Agriculture.  This Network would like to support a dialogue on local foods among producers, growers, consumers, school nutrition programs, grocers, restaurants and resource providers to best address any COVID-19 pandemic impacts and needs. 

The Listening Sessions will be held as follows: 

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 5:00 pm MDT; 6:00 pm CDT, and 

Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:00 am MDT; 9:00 am CDT

Those interested in joining, please contact Kari ONeil via email or at 605-690-8820 to receive the Zoom log-in information.  

The Network asks for those interested to please take time to fill out a pre-session survey to prepare the conversation.  This survey for example asks what the barriers to local foods in your community are and how has the COVID-19 pandemic influenced your production, marketing or buying plans.  

Link to the survey: Click Here

Please join the Network for these timely listening sessions so that resource providers and network participants can learn and address what is needed to build a strong and sovereign local foods system in South Dakota.